Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for most up to date information about the fall semester.Campus ReadyCOVID Help
Undergraduate and Graduate Studies

Katie Tyler and Ibrahim Abu-Hijleh win Undergraduate Physics Thesis Presentation Award

May 12, 2020

The Undergraduate Physics Thesis Presentation Award is award is given annually to the student who does the finest physics thesis presentation as judged by the physics faculty. This year, among several excellent talks, two students' talks were evaluated most highly, and they will share the award: 

Katie Tyler, for her presentation, "Optimizing Perovskite Thin Film Quality by Annealing for Space Based Photovoltaics," based on her work in the Ghosh Lab.

Ibrahim Abu-Hijleh for his presentation "Phase Transition of Nematic Droplets for Assembly of Nanoparticle Capsules and Defects in Nematic Shells," based on his work in the Hirst and Beller Labs. 

The Physics Department commends all of its graduating seniors, who all gave high-quality research presentations:

Florence Lucey
Ibrahim Abu-Hijleh
Katie Tyler
Luis Arteaga-Castaneda
Jorge Artega
Erick Cedillo