Skip to content

People

Faculty | Affiliate FacultyInstructors | StaffPostdoctoral ScholarsGraduate Students | Society of Physics Students (SPS)| Women in Physics (WiP)Governance

 

Faculty

Hui Cai

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 049

 

Ray Chiao photo

Ray Chiao

Professor Emeritus

rchiao@ucmerced.edu
209-228-8662
Webpage

Chih-Chun Chien 

Associate Professor

cchien5@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-2224
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 246
Webpage

Kinjal Dasbiswas

Assistant Professor

kdasbiswas@ucmerced.edu
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 266
Webpage

Sayantani Ghosh photo

Sayantani Ghosh 

Professor

sghosh@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4055
Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 035
Webpage

Ajay Gopinathan photo

Ajay Gopinathan

Professor

(209) 228-4048
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 252

Linda Hirst 

Professor, Physics Department Chair

lhirst@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4569
Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 161
Webpage

Dustin Kleckner

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 115

Sarah Loebman

Assistant Professor

Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 245
Webpage

Bin Liu

Associate Professor

bliu27@ucmerced.edu
Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 111
Webpage

Carrie Menke photo

Carrie Menke (until summer 2023)

Associate Teaching Professor

cmenke@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-3078
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 267
Webpage

Kevin Mitchell

Professor

(209) 228-2952
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 249
Anna Nierenberg photo

Anna Nierenberg

Assistant Professor

Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 228

Michael Scheibner

Associate Professor

mscheibner@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4873
Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 045
Webpage

Jay Sharping

Associate Professor

jsharping@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4049
Biomedical Sciences and Physics (BSP), Room 143
Webpage

David Strubbe photo

David Strubbe

Associate Professor

dstrubbe@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4481
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 251
Webpage

Lin Tian

Professor

ltian@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4209
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 247
Webpage

Brian Utter

Teaching Professor

Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 253
Webpage

Gillian Wilson

Professor

gwilson@ucmerced.edu
Administration BLDG, Room 335
Arts and Computational Sciences (ACS), Room 269
Jing Xu photo

Jing Xu

Associate Professor

jxu8@ucmerced.edu
Science and Engineering 1, Room 380
Webpage

James Zimmerman

Teaching Professor

jzimmerman6@ucmerced.edu
Student Services Building (SSB), Room 312

 

Affiliate Faculty

Venkattaraman Ayyaswamy

Venkattraman (Venkatt) Ayyaswamy

Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Mehmet Baykara

Mehmet Z. Baykara

Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Mike Colvin photo

Mike Colvin

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Arvind Gopinath

Arvind Gopinath

Assistant Professor, Bioengineering

Hrant Hratchian

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Shilpa Khatri

Shilpa Khatri

Associate Professor, Applied Mathematics

Sarah Kurtz

Professor, Materials and Biomaterials Science and Engineering

Henrik Larsson
Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Jennifer Lu

Jennifer Lu

Associate Professor, Materials and Biomaterials Science and Engineering

Victor Muñoz

Victor Muñoz

Professor, Bioengineering

Elizabeth Nowadnick

Elizabeth Nowadnick

Assistant Professor, Materials and Biomaterials Science and Engineering

Aleksandr Noy

Aleksandr Noy

Adjunct Professor, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Aurora Pribram-Jones

Aurora Pribram-Jones

Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Tomas Rube

Assistant Professor, Applied Mathematics

Anand Balasubramanian

Anand Bala Subramaniam

Assistant Professor, Bioengineering

Tao Ye

Tao Ye

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

 

Instructors

Pooja Chopra

Physics Lecturer

Arts and Computational Sciences, Room 262C
 

Borna Hlousek

Physics Lecturer

Arts and Computational Sciences, Room 262C
 

Toni Stone

Physics Continuing Lecturer

Arts and Computational Sciences, Room 226

Zohreh Vafapour

Physics Lecturer

Arts and Computational Sciences, Room 262C

John Wilson

Physics Lecturer

Arts and Computational Sciences, Room 262C

Staff

Postdoctoral Scholars